Skip to content

ACA Notes mention

May 18, 2010

Time will tell how my physical and psychological fortitude stacks up relative to the rest of the Tour Divide crew, but according to Michael McCoy of the Adventure Cycling Assocation, my Tour Divide letter of intent takes a podium position!  That’s a friendly vote of confidence, since he’s the author of Cycling the Great Divide.

Thanks!  …I wonder if he knows Little Debbie…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 8:02 PM

    The Gods are shining on you… now you have to land on the real podium. Meanwhile – I’ll be sipping my HOT morning coffee and watching the shooting stars at night!

    • May 18, 2010 8:17 PM

      I have a feeling that you’ll be casually mentioning the word “hot” a bit more frequently than truly necessary. Just keep in mind that I detest coffee. Now, if you could concoct in the field on your diddly alcohol stove some real hot chocolate in the style of Timberline Lodge (with loads of cream and shaved chocolate on top), then I will concede to you the moral victory.

  2. May 19, 2010 2:34 PM

    Me too! That was fun to read. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff. By the way, as a UNH alum with lots of friends and family in that area, I really enjoy reading your blog. Your photos make me really miss the riding around there, almost makes me wish I still lived on the east coast! What’s the name of that one climb in VT, they say it’s the steepest mile of dirt in the country or something like that?

    • May 19, 2010 8:08 PM

      Ah yes, that would be Lincoln Gap. By someone’s count its the steepest paved road in the eastern United States. Its a 1800′ climb from the east side, with sections up to 24% grade. The road starts off paved, then turns to dirt. When it gets paved again, then you know you’re in trouble. You’d best have mountainish-low gears or you’ll be toast, and you’ve got to position your body just right to keep that pesky front wheel on the ground.

      More here: http://www.northeastcycling.com/six_gaps.html …although I call it MR. LAMB instead of Six Gap. Its a solid day whatever you call it.

  3. May 19, 2010 9:56 PM

    Right, Lincoln Gap, now I remember. Maybe I’ll get back there to ride it sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

